Kicking off: an introduction to Into Overtime


Growing up, I was never particularly interested in sport. Participating or watching, it just never appealed to me. I’d always had an interest in digital media, paying particular attention to covering events. It was a no-brainer to pursue a degree in arts, studying History and English at Loughborough University. It was the best choice I could have made for my degree choice with my A-Level results, and it changed my entire perception of sport forever.

IMG_1237

After only two weeks at the university, I was approached by the students women’s rugby club chair at an Athletic Union freshers bazaar. Somehow, I was convinced to try the sport and was hooked ever after. A few months passed, and my involvement with the club became essential to my university experience. My entire social life was intricately intertwined with that of the club.

In the following months, we had committee elections. I had taken an interest in the role of media representative; a difficult task to undertake as we had little to no strategy on the clubs online presence. I was still very young and relatively inexperienced. I would come to learn quickly on the job, and soon the club had a stronger online presence, many aspects of which are still intact today years later! This included live tweeting games, promotion ahead of matches, and post-match activity throughout the BUCS season.

IMG_1234

The role I had with LSWRFC lasted two years, and further voluntary opportunities emerged as a result. I landed a role match reporting for Vitality Netball Superleague team Loughborough Lightning. From there, I took more opportunities volunteering with the sports marketing team until my degree was completed. Fortunately, my time with the university wasn’t finished there as I took a graduate role with the central University marketing team as their Digital Media Intern.

Somehow, Loughborough University managed to take a young girl with a complete detachment from sport and turn her into a woman completely driven by it.

Leave a Reply

